Here a Fork, There a Fork…

by Lester Young

If you’re a born-again believer, you’ve undoubtedly faced a situation – or a hundred of them – that makes you feel like throwing up your hands (and not in praise) because you just don’t know what to do. We all have. That moment of complete and utter indecision is a very critical time in the life and growth of every Christian. Even though you may have absolutely no idea what you should be doing, that very thought (or, ‘non-thought,’ as it were) is its own signal that you’re standing right on top of a clear fork in the road. And we all know what happens at forks in the road: you have to go one way or the other. In other words, you gotta make a decision.

“Well, yeah, Einstein; and that’s the problem – I don’t know what to do…I thought you understood that!” Yes, I do understand that. But, the decision you really need to make is not the one you’re probably preoccupied with. It’s not the one that you “just don’t know what to do” about. That’s not the real ‘fork in the road’ which needs your immediate attention.  No, the fork that you’ve gotta deal with is, “Where am I actually putting my faith, in the circumstances I see and feel around me, or someplace else?”

Let me show you what I mean. When you have to choose to believe something, that’s always a fork in the road. You can either go one way (in believing it) or proceed the other way (by not believing it, or believing something else which contradicts it). When you reach a point where you don’t know what to do, where you’ve tried everything you know and nothing has apparently worked, does it mean God’s no longer with you? Of course not. Even though it may not feel like He’s with you, we have a blood promise from the Lord Jesus that He would never leave or forsake us – ever! (Hebrews 13:5) (Besides, who says we’re supposed to walk based on our feelings, anyway? We walk by faith – by believing God’s promises – and not by what we see or feel around us, remember? [2 Corinthians 5:7])

This, then, is the point where you need to grab your brain by the ear (well…you know what I mean) and tell it, “Look here, Junior; I don’t care what we see, I don’t care what the situation looks like. I know I don’t know what to do; but my Lord Jesus, my Shepherd who leads me (Psalm 23:1), He knows, and He’ll tell me. So, as far as I’m concerned, I already know, and I’ll just go ahead and start thanking and praising God for the answer right now! (That’s faith talking, just like 2 Corinthians 4:13 says.) As a matter of fact, I think I’ll just toss the care of this whole thing over onto the Lord, and I’m not going to take another worried thought about it any more – at all!” (1 Peter 5:7)

That’s the first – and most important – decision you should make, and it’ll always start you down the correct pathway. Even if you don’t know what to do in the natural, God does; and remembering that fact will go a long way in settling your mind. The Apostle Paul had to do the exact same thing when he found himself resisted and vexed by the devil. He’d already prayed three times about it, when he was reminded by the Lord, “My grace is sufficient for you;” to which Paul responded, “Well, shoot, then; I’m more than happy to reach the end of my physical abilities and intellect, so that the power of the Anointed One can take over. I’m glad for my weaknesses: because when I’m weak, then I am strong – that is, where my natural ability ends, His supernatural ability picks up right there!” (2 Corinthians 12:9) [Okay, that’s highly paraphrased, but it’s what he meant.]

So don’t worry about what you don’t know, and don’t get bent all up trying to figure everything out for yourself. Go to the One Who has all the knowledge and wisdom (James 1:5). He’s already promised to supply you with everything you need (Philippians 4:19). He’ll be more than happy to lead you. If His grace was sufficient for Paul, it’ll be enough for you and me, too.

In the Name of Jesus Christ, may the blessing, comfort, unsurpassed peace and restoration of God be upon all those affected by Hurricane Sandy during this difficult time. My heart is with you all…Amen.

If you like us, then be sure to LIKE Us…Thanks!

3 Trackbacks to “Here a Fork, There a Fork…”

Leave a Reply

