Snatching Weaves and Learnin’ Stuff

by Lester Young

The Word of God contains abundant provision for every need we might ever have in our lives (2 Peter 1:2-4). You could also say that this way: God foresaw long ago every eventuality we might ever face and took care of it way back when, already giving us victory over it (Psalm 139:16 The Message; Ephesians 2:10 Amplified). So then, if that’s the case, how come so many needs of so many people are not met?

Well, here’s our first hint: It’s not God’s fault. As a matter of fact, we’d all be really, really wise to start at that base whenever we go to God with some question or problem or doubt or injustice or anything that for whatever reason just doesn’t seem to be quite right. And why should we make that our “home plate”? It’s not because ‘He’s God, and He says so; He’s God, and so by default He’s right and we’re wrong!’ (Romans 3:4) …well, actually that’s precisely why, but there’s an even better reason than that. We should always start there because, quite simply, we need to continually realize that God doesn’t just have love, He is Love (1 John 4:8, 16). And Love doesn’t wish, plan or perform evil upon anyone (Romans 13:10). He’s for people, not against us (Genesis 1:26-28; Jeremiah 29:11; John 10:10). The true fact of the matter is that Love – or using the shorter spelling of His Name, God – gives. It’s Who He is, and therefore it’s what He does! “For God sooo loved the world, that he gave…!” (John 3:16)

Sooo then, if it’s not God’s fault that so many needs go unfulfilled, there’s only one other side of the equation to look at… and unfortunately, it’s (you guessed it!) ours. Whose else could it really be? Is there anyone else besides you and me who actually has the right, authority or power to stand between us and God and cut off our connection to Him?? No, there isn’t. And I’ll let you in on another cage-rattler while we’re at it: circumstances don’t have that ability, either. One of the biggest con jobs Satan has ever pulled has been to get us to live “under” our circumstances. I’m sure you’ve heard it at least a hundred times before and not paid much attention to it: “How’re you feeling today, Matilda?” “Oh, not too bad, I suppose, under the circumstances.”

If you’re like most of the rest of us you probably didn’t even bat an eye at it. However, our actual response should’ve been more along the lines of snatching Matilda by her weave and asking her, “Well, what the heck are you doing down there ‘under’ them, Sweetheart?! Don’t you know who you are and what you’ve been given?” And therein lies the real problem: a fundamental lack of knowledge.

God lamented a long time ago, “My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge” (Hosea 4:6); and that assessment is still quite true today. We’ve probably all heard that passage before, but I suspect far fewer of us are actually aware that it did not come at the end of the paragraph or even the end a sentence. In other words, God said something more that was directly related to it. He continued His comment with, “Because you have rejected knowledge…”; and then He went on to declare the very dire consequences of such unwise actions (or nonactions, as the case may be).

I can hear some of you thinking, “I haven’t rejected God or His knowledge. I’m a Christian; I’m born again!” Good for you. And yet so many needs of so many people – Christians included – are not met. It’s interesting to note that God didn’t say just anybody was being destroyed for lack of knowledge. He specifically pointed out that His people – those who have a Covenant relationship with Him – are suffering destruction because they don’t know something. It’s also pretty interesting to take a prolonged look at the word ‘reject’: in its fullest definition, it includes the connotations of spurning, holding in contempt, disesteeming, disrespecting, dishonoring and considering (a thing) valueless or of little worth. In other words, it means to consider someone or something ‘not important enough to make time for.’

Where’s your Bible? When’s the last time you picked it up just to read a little? If you paused and had to think for more than second on either of those two questions… well, you be your own judge (1 Corinthians 11:31; 2 Corinthians 13:5; 1 Peter 4:17). Remember, God and His Word are One and the same, so spending time reading His Word is actually a very real way of spending time with Him (John 1:1). Coincidentally, it’s also a very real way to find out some stuff we don’t know. And it’s that knowledge that will keep us out of danger of being destroyed by poverty or lack or sickness or any other outgrowth of the curse that Jesus died to free us of (Deuteronomy 28:15-68; Galatians 3:13-14).

God has already abundantly provided for everything we’ll ever need. But because we have a choice known as ‘free will,’ He’s not going to force anything on us (Deuteronomy 30:19). It’s up to us to sit down and spend some time with Him, and find out what we don’t know – such as, all the things that belong to us in the Covenant that is Jesus Christ (2 Peter 1:3-4; John 1:14; Luke 22:19-20).

 

If you like us, then be sure to LIKE Us…Thanks!

4 Comments to “Snatching Weaves and Learnin’ Stuff”

  1. Conviction. But let me confess something. There are times and lately I look at my Bible and dread picking it up. I even tell myself that feeling is nonsense to shake it off but it daunts me and frankly then I fight fear. What am I becoming?

    • Hi, Sandra.

      Your Father doesn’t ever want you to be afraid to come to Him. He’s waiting and longing to spend time with each of us individually – quiet time in His Word, away from all the other loud voices of the day, where you’ll be able to hear and begin to start sensing His abounding love for you personally. Remember, He sent Jesus to die for you personally – that’s how much God valued you (take it just that way, Sandra – take it personally!).

      God isn’t mad at you; He isn’t out to get you or reprove you harshly about anything – nothing! He’s already promised that He would never push us away or even be mad at us ever again (Isaiah 54:9-10). Take Him at His Word; believe me, He wants you to.

      Those fears of coming to Him you’ve been struggling with are not from God and, frankly, they’re also not from you. Fear is actually a spirit, just as faith is (2 Timothy 1:7; 2 Corinthians 4:13). (And if you dig down into it just a bit, you’ll realize that the two are polar opposites: ‘fear’ is no more than faith pointing in the other direction. Your ‘fear’ of a snake is actually faith in – belief in – it’s intent and/or ability [whether that ability actually exists or not] to hurt or kill you.) Now, ‘fear’ doesn’t come from God our Father; He hasn’t given us the spirit of fear (2 Timothy 1:7). And if we don’t get it from Him, I think you can probably guess who it does come from – the same entity who doesn’t want you going anywhere near God. Faith is one of the fruits of God’s Spirit (Galatians 5:22); just so, ‘anti’-faith (or, fear) is a product of the spirit of ‘anti’-Christ, or Satan.

      The conviction you’re feeling, Sandra, may be rooted in self-condemnation. But Romans 8:1 says that there is now no more condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus. Remember the woman who was found committing adultery and brought directly from the fun straight to being thrown down in front of Jesus? He didn’t condemn her at all – He let her go completely (John 8:3-11). Why? Because He knew that His upcoming Sacrifice would wipe away not only all of her sins, but all yours and mine, too. So don’t listen to those thoughts. If you’re in Christ, you’re not under any condemnation at all from God (regardless of how you may ‘feel.’)

      I guess maybe I got a little long-winded… sorry about that. Just disregard those fearful impulses and go ahead pick up your Bible. Those impulses aren’t from your Father, so you’re under absolutely no obligation to pay any attention to them. As you become more and more aware of His over-the-top love for you (which you will as you spend more and more time with Him), it’ll drive any dread or fear – about any- and everything – right out of you, just like He said it would (1 John 4:18).

      As always, Sandra, I’m honored that you stopped by.

      Lester

      • Lester,
        Thank you for your time. Don’t worry about length – I need to be slowed down and read carefully.
        Lester, I have been fortunate in my life with family. My family never lied to me – my parents, nor my grandparents. You may smile – but it is the truth. Did they sin? Absolutely and I’m sure in more than I will ever know but they did not lie. When I asked a question they answered. Small things – is this right – yes or no? Did you ever still yes or no? Is this color okay for me yes or no? Is there a God, yes or no. When you trust someone – and in my case more than just one and they tell you something, you tend to believe.
        So when I asked the God question, the answer was in the affirmative. Yes God lives. Yes, Jesus Christ is His only begotten Son. Yes there is no other Way to the Father except through the Son.
        Lester, I’m no evangelist. My passion in life is the English language and the books and the poetry and the minds that think within that language. So when others my associates and even some friends tell me there is no God – please believe me when I tell you – that’s water off a duck’s back. If dear teacher you have accepted Christ as your personal savior – we will sit at the Table together.
        With that said – I agree, picking up the Word of God is the key to living. However there is one daunting theme that cannot be denied – The Word of God has only a few triumphs. Jesus’ rising on Easter morning the most glorious. I also LOVE the book of Ruth – I love the study of women, especially women of LOYALTY and FAITH. I feel Joshuah excelled and lived before God. And if this s something I have to face come judgment day – okay but Moses, David Solomon and most of Jesus’ disciples depress me.
        And I wish we could talk together (please don’t think me forward -please) about these things for I believe if I could get to the bottom of my dread i could better understand the revival that must come before Christ’s return. I see so many of the Christian world – western Christians either living like they aren’t Christians or triumphing over extensively in Christian movies or themes. I feel at times embarrassed – and even that’s not the right word – I don’t know disappointed in using everything Christ or God as a evangelistic tool, rather than thinking with the mind God gave us. We read the Bible and teach our children – reject God he rejects you – act like Solomon and worship other gods or follow the crowd and see what happens. I’m not saying all Christians are doom sayers but what I am saying is that we are not grasping everything God is telling us. Yes, He loves us – I have no doubt that He loves us – no doubt. I know He wants to bless us – but HOW do we bless HIM? One way is to think – yes, sit down and ask questions – this He welcomes and I appreciate that – yet…yet. I still go back to the simple premise – once we have accept Christ as our personal savior we either go off on a tangent that all of our needs are met – or we bog ourselves down on the dos and don’ts and let the Bible be our proving ground rather than stepping on the shoulders of our ancestors and living so our children have an example. It’s more than a feeling, its more than being blessed with health and wealth it’s more than tithing and gifting so a missionary can keep going – it is all that but more. Our minds must engage I must – if you will – I must know and have the wisdom to know that what I’m hearing is God. I’ve had moments – and they are precious to me – things I could never tell and make believable to you that God does exist but those moments are mine – how do I then pick up the Word of God again and not feel daunted by the history of empires built and lost? How do I look at my spiraling country and say – hey, let it go – and think again, the way God intended us to think – and then live. When my grandfather died I read from Thess – how to live, live quietly, work with your hands – that is what I hang on to – and maybe I’ve just answered myself – but honestly it can be extremely lonely looking beyond the Word of God as just a guild to living, and really it is a foundation on how to think and converse with God. I just don’t want to be that well filled out fig tree with no fruit. I’ve said enough – hope this makes a little sense.

      • Hi again, Sandra.

        Let me first say that I hope you’ll forgive me for the lag in response time..I read your reply last night, but I didn’t want to rush a useless answer back to you just for the sake of responding. I wanted to let sink in and think about what you said, and even more importantly spend some time in prayer about it, so I’d know the best way to answer you. You’ve got a lot on your mind, and I can certainly understand that..you make a number of valid points. Let me also say that yes, we’ll be sitting at the Table together, because Jesus is definitely my personal Savior and Lord. 🙂

        If I may make a very generalized observation (and it’s a given and I’m fully aware that I don’t really know you): the inner conflict you’re experiencing is largely based on your perception of the world… that’s it’s pretty much going to hell in a hand basket – and you’ll get no argument from me, it is. But when I use that word ‘perception’ I’m not referring right now to you inner view or opinion of it – I’m referring instead to your actual ‘eyesight.’ In other words, I mean you’re staring at it (which is a very easy thing to do: we’re all largely visual [and that represents all of the five natural senses] creatures; which, unfortunately, can often be a detriment to us… but I digress). And when you stare at something, it’s virtually impossible to pay attention to anything else. But back to this in a moment, Sandra…

        I just wanted to address directly a couple of your thoughts. You mentioned that the Word of God contains only a few triumphs. Let’s just agree to disagree on that, shall we? 🙂 The Bible is full of triumph from start to finish, it’s all about triumph, in fact. For instance, the (very) broad-stroke overview: God made man; God lost man; God implemented a previously-conceived Master Plan to get man back (and it worked!); God got man back. (But if you want to peel back that covering layer just a little, let’s look at it this way: God made man; man screwed up and, by choosing the wrong thing, lost all ‘choice,’ period [i.e.; Satan, when he got control of things, demanded that all men die – hence, he’s been trying to kill us ever since]; God implemented His previously-conceived Master Plan to get man his ‘choice back’ – and it worked, because now man can choose to have life and blessing or death and the curse [Deuteronomy 30:19]). Yes, Solomon came to ruin – but only because he chose to do what God specifically warned him not to. Yes, David had to deal with major, major family issues – but that was because he chose to do something that he already knew good and well not to, and then attempted to cover it up by murder. And even though he God immediately forgave, his actions opened the door for those ‘natural’ consequences to come home to roost. Yes, all of the Apostles were martyred (except John), but they were all so fervent and convinced of Jesus and of God’s love that they chose to continue on doing what the Lord told them to do, regardless of the opposition or what it might cost – because they knew what they had waiting for them in Heaven (Hebrews 10:34, 11:36-40). An angel had to slap Peter awake in order to rescue him – he was in Level 4, deep-REM sleep just a few hours before he was scheduled to be executed (Acts 11:6-10). I don’t think they were all that depressed. I suppose that it can look depressing, if you choose to see it as depressing, looking at their earthly outcomes – but we must remember that that’s not the end of their stories.

        You also mentioned that you were disappointed about using everything Christ or God as an evangelistic tool, and not thinking with the mind God gave us. I have to admit I’m not completely sure what you mean there, and I hope you’ll clarify if I’m completely off base (or even if I’m not 🙂 ). God gave us the mind of Christ (1 Corinthians 2:16). We have Christ’s very own mind; so, to me, that’s the mind we should be endeavoring to use. Does that mean beating people over the head at every turn, threatening fire and brimstone at them 24-7 so they’ll get saved? No, of course not. But I think it does mean that every thought we think, every motivation we yield to and every action we commence should be run through the ‘filter’ of Christ – the Anointing of God. Whether we’re actively evangelizing, pastoring, preaching, teaching or just going about our daily jobs and lives (which, by the way, is our real witness and speaks louder than anything), how Christ sees and thinks about and judges what we’re doing – whatever it may be – should be our controlling factor and how we choose to see, think about and judge it. I know we can’t control every thought that comes into our head; but we can hold every one up to the ruler of God’s Word, and throw out the ones that don’t align with His commandment of love (2 Corinthians 10:3-5). That’s renewing our mind to use His, and not being conformed to the world’s way of thinking or to its wisdom (Romans 12:2). And that’s the mind God gave us.

        Okay, back to the overview. Sandra, I’m going to reiterate something very simplistic to you, because it’s basic (I don’t mean simplistic as in stupid or silly, but simplistic as in just plain ‘simple to do’. And, while I’m at it, I don’t mean basic as in first-grader material, I mean basic as in ‘fundamental’ – because when things get confusing, complicated, convoluted or conflicting, we should always try to do this: Go Back To The Basics.) And the Basic I want to refer you to is this: Go to the Word, and sit yourself down in it. Instead of staring at the world and being overly concerned for its present state or others’ opinions, take your eyes off that and put them on God’s Word. I.e., spend time there. Jesus called Himself the “Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending;” and He is the Word (Revelation 1:8, 19:13; John 1:14). So, it all starts with the Word, and it all ends with the Word. And all the progression in between those two is based on the Word, as well. Got a prob? Go to the Word first. Got a question? Go to the Word first. He’s got all the answers; it just makes sense to start there.

        I know that just reading the Bible can seem like something that wouldn’t really be very productive in producing answers or directions, ‘practically’ speaking. But I can assure you, Sandra, that it is and it can. When you do it, you’ll be simplifying things. You’ll put at least a temporary halt to your mind pulling you in several different directions at once, and you’ll give the Lord a chance to speak to you through that written Word. He’s already made Himself very real to you… now He’s asking you for the chance to calm you, to settle you, to reassure you, and to explain some things to you.

        God speaks to us through His Word, through prayer and by that still, small inner voice (1 Kings 19:12). And Jesus said that “His sheep (that’s you and me) know His voice” (John 10:4). So take Him at His word: make up your mind to go to Him. Stop paying attention to that fear; it’s only there to try to keep you away from the Lord. Stop listening to it. Spend some time with Jesus in His Word; you’ll find no condemnation there.

        As I said at the beginning of this book :), you raised some good points… some tough points. Sometimes it’s hard to answer a question to the poser’s satisfaction because you can’t be in their head. And if I don’t know something, I’m the kind of person that will tell you that I don’t know it. But I do know Who’s got the answers, and I believe you do, too. Just take a little time each day and sit with Him… and do it in faith, believing that He’s gonna tell you some stuff. As you do, you’ll start to get more insight into all kinds of things, and more things will start making sense because you’ll begin seeing them through His and and point-of-view. And that revelation of God’s love for you personally will just keep on growing and growing. Go ahead commit to that step, Sandra… I know it’ll hep you. Put on your Nikes and just do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

